Skip to main content


The Peloponnese (known as Moreas or Maurice) is one of nine geographic departments. Located south of the mainland of the country and linked to mainland Greece by a narrow strip of land, the Isthmus of Corinth who in 1893 built the eponymous canal, making it virtually an island. Moreover, since 2004 the Rio-Antirio connects the Peloponnese with mainland Greece.

The Peloponnese covers an area of some 21,549.6  km² (8,320 square miles) and constitutes the southernmost part of mainland Greece.

The peninsula has a mountainous interior and deeply indented coasts, with Mount Taygetus its highest point at 2,407 m. It possesses four south-pointing peninsulas, the Messenian peninsula, the Mani Peninsula, the Cape Malea peninsula (also known as Epidaurus Limera), and the Argolid in the far northeast of the Peloponnese.

Two groups of islands lie off the Peloponnesan coast: the Argo-Saronic Islands to the east, and the Ionian Islands to the west. The island of Kythera, off the Epidaurus Limera peninsula to the south of the Peloponnese, is considered to be part of the Ionian Islands.
The Peloponnese is divided administratively into seven provinces (Achaia, Ilia, Messinia, Arkadia, Lakonia, Argolida and Corinth, with a small part of it belongs to the prefecture of Attica) and since 1986 in two regions, Western Greece and Peloponnese region.



View businesses in this region: