Skip to main content

North Aegean

The North Aegean Periphery (Greek: Περιφέρεια Βορείου Αιγαίου) is one of the thirteen peripheries of Greece. It comprises the islands of the north-eastern Aegean Sea, except for Samothrace, which belongs to the periphery of East Macedonia and Thrace, and Imbros and Tenedos which belong to Turkey.

The North Aegean region was established in the 1987 administrative reform. With the 2010 Kallikratis plan, its powers and authority were redefined and extended. Along with the South Aegean, it is supervised by the Decentralized Administration of the Aegean based at Piraeus. The capital of the region is situated in Mytilene on the island of Lesbos.

Since 1 January 2011 it is divided into 5 regional units, formed around major islands:[1] Chios, Ikaria, Lemnos, Lesbos and Samos.

View businesses in this region: