Skip to main content

Central Greece

Central Greece (Greek: Περιφέρεια Στερεάς Ελλάδας, also translated as "Continental Greece") is one of the thirteen administrative regions of Greece. The region occupies the eastern half of the traditional region of Central Greece, to the north of Attica and the Peloponnese, to the east of West Greece and to the south of Thessaly and Epirus.

The Central Greece region was established in the 1987 administrative reform. With the 2010 Kallikratis plan, its powers and authority were redefined and extended. Along with Thessaly, it is supervised by the Decentralized Administration of Thessaly and Continental Greece based at Larissa. The region is based at Lamia and is divided[1] into five regional units (pre-Kallikratis prefectures), Boeotia, Euboea, Evrytania, Phocis and Phthiotis, which are further subdivided into 25 municipalities.

Central Greece is a geographical region in the middle part of Greece with an area of ​​24.910 square kilometers and a population of 4,591,568 inhabitants.


View businesses in this region: